• facebook
  • Twitter
  • pinterest
  • linkedin

In half an hour, Xiaomi is holding a big product launch event in Beijing. It starts at 2 PM local time, which is 7 AM UK time, 8 AM France/Germany time, 2 AM Eastern, and 11 PM Pacific on September 23.

At this event the company will take the wraps off the much leaked Mi 9 Pro (not to be confused with the already available Mi 9T Pro), as well as the Mi Mix 5G – which seems to be the phone that was at different points referred to as either Mi Mix 4 or Mi Mix Alpha. Clearly the Mi Mix 5G will pack the latest network technology, but the Mi 9 Pro might have a 5G version as well.

If you have the popcorn handy, we’ve embedded the live stream here for your convenience, so sit back and enjoy the ride.

According to past rumors and leaks, the new Mi Mix should be the first ever smartphone to boast a 108 MP main rear camera, which will shoot 27 MP photos using a quad bayer filter. It’s also apparently going to join the vivo NEX 3 and Huawei’s Mate 30 Pro in having a ‘waterfall’ display, that’s curved so aggressively that it might take the phone’s screen-to-body ratio over 100%.

The Mi 9 Pro on the other hand should retain the overall design of the Mi 9, with a flat screen and waterdrop notch, and triple rear cameras. It will be powered by the Snapdragon 855+ chipset, and have a 4,000 mAh battery with support for 30W wireless charging (that’s record-breaking if you’re keeping track), as well as 40W wired charging and 10W reverse wireless charging.

There’s also a brand new haptic motor inside, which should deliver stronger vibration feedback, and the Mi 9 Pro gets a revised cooling module with five graphite layers.